top of page
Search

DIY Watercolor Field Journal



I love field journals! Pop one in your bag to record your visit to the beach, walk in the woods or a hike up a mountain. I was so inspired by the Graphic 45Woodland Friends’ collection that I just had to create my own field journal using it. I also included watercolor and repurposed papers and I love the result. I hope you enjoy creating one for yourself.



Start with Graphic 45 Chipboard for the covers. Each cover consists of 2 pieces of chipboard cut to 6 ¼” x 4 ¼” and 5 ¾” x 4 ¼”. I doubled the thickness of chipboard just to make it a little stiffer for when sketching or painting. However, I didn’t double the thickness on the spine where the coil binding will be. I then choose all the other papers I wanted to use and cut them to 6 1/8” x 4” or smaller. The Ephemera & Journaling Cards work perfectly for this sized journal. I also used the 8” x 8” Paper Pad and miscellaneous repurposed papers. Now you can punch the holes in the spine of all your papers, keeping in mind which way you want the papers facing in your completed journal. View the video tutorial below for further instruction details.



Graphic 45 Woodland Friends Field Journal


Part 1 - Tutorial




Graphic 45 Woodland Friends Field Journal


Part 2 - Flip-through






Graphic 45 Supply List:



Other Supplies:


Repurposed book pages, notepaper, and watercolor postcards

Distress Inks

Elastic

Misc. charms and stickers


Have a wonderful creative day!

Elizajane


37 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page